Race Report – Great Brewers Gran Prix of Gloucester 45+

 

The cross gods were kind to Gloucester for the ‘Holy Week’ of New England cyclocross, they delivered just the right amount of rain, mud, and more rain.

 

Day 1

The 45+ field raced in the morning so our race was wet and slick, It dried up for the latter races. The temperatures weren’t too bad but the rain made it feel colder than it actually was. I Used the medium heat Mad Alchemy Embrocation on the legs which was perfect.  The mud wasn’t sticking to the bike so the course was still really fast; good legs and good skills would be needed to do well!

My skills are getting better mainly due to my new Rock Lobster – it’s by far the best cross bike I’ve ever ridden.

The start at Gloucester is always crazy and this year was no different. I did manage my best start to date but lost a few positions on the greasy corner before the first run-up.  Had a few battles during the race (which I mostly lost) and ended up in 12th place. I think the new course on day one was better than last years and the smiles on everyone’s face in the line for the Pedro’s bike wash right after the race certainly confirmed this. 

Day 2

Sunday was colder, wetter, muddier, and beautiful.  I got a great start and was pretty close to the front after the first lap. I just managed to latch on the group in front of me racing for 5thto 8th mid-way through the race and went down on a muddy corner. Almost caught them again on the last lap but ran out of gas, started to go backwards, and just held on for 9th place. Fitness is improving each week so looking forward to Providence! Apologies to all who witnessed the large amount of drool on my face, I didn’t know it was there.

Big thanks to Mad Alchemy, Rock Lobster, and Verge Sport for giving so much to the sport.

Great to see my Mad Alchemy/ Verge Rider Cooperative teammates: Good luck to everyone racing Night Weasels and see you in Providence.

